Cirilo Santiago Grave Garcia
Ref# PT0050

About Me
My name is Cirilo Santiago Grave Garcia. I'm 3 years old.

My birthday is
July 9, 2016.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country


My Story


Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Cirilo Santiago Grave Garcia.  I was born on July 9, 2016 and I am three years old.  I am a healthy child.  I have only one brother.  I walk about 10 minutes to get to the feeding program.  My father’s name is Encarnacion and he travels to the coast each month to work.  When he is here, he works as a farmer.  My mother’s name is Rosa and she is a housewife.  We own the house in which we live.  It is one room with a separate kitchen.  The house is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We have some sheep, pigs and chickens that we sell when we have some need.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my balls.  My favorite color is green and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are rice and noodles.  My family attends a Charismatic church.  

With much love and many blessings,

Cirilo Santiago Grave Garcia

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary