Yolanda Martina Grave Ponce
Ref# PT0047

About Me
My name is Yolanda Martina Grave Ponce. I'm 6 years old.

My birthday is
March 19, 2013.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country


My Story


Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Yolanda Martina Grave Ponce.  I was born on March 19, 2013 and I am six years old.  I am a healthy child.  I have three brothers and four sisters.  Four of my siblings also attend the feeding program and we walk about 15 minutes to get to the program.  My family owns the house in which we live, It has three rooms and a separate kitchen.  The house is made of adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We have water and electricity.  My father’s name is Nazario and he is a farmer.  He also travels to the coast to work during the coffee harvest and he takes my oldest siblings with him.  My mother’s name is Estela and she is a housewife.  We have some domestic animals such as hens, pigs and sheep that we sell when we have some needs.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my dolls.  My favorite colors are red and pink, and my favorite animal is the sheep.  The foods that I like best are bananas and fried chicken.  My family attends Prince of Peace Church.

                           With much love and many blessings,                           

Yolanda Martina Grave Ponce

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary