Maria Elena


Gender Female
Birth Date Sep 15, 2012
Age 6 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PT0007

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello!  My name is María Elena García de la Cruz.  I was born on September 15, 2012 and I am 6 years old.  I am in good health and I attend the feeding program at Pasojoc III.  My father’s name is Manuel and he is a farmer and a day laborer.  He also travels to Guatemala City for two months each year to earn money by carrying bundles and packages for other people.  My mother’s name is Juana and she is a housewife.  My family does not travel to the coast to work during the coffee harvest.  We own the house in which we live.  It has two rooms and a separate kitchen.  The house is made of adobe with a tin roof and a concrete floor.  We have electricity, but we do not have running water.  We get our water from a nearby natural water source with a hose.  I have 2 brothers, and my brother, Leonel, is the one who takes me to the feeding program.  I am in the 1st grade this year, and when I am not in school, I like to spend my time playing with my dolls.  My favorite color is purple, and my favorite animal is the dove.  The foods that I like to eat the most are fried chicken and bananas.  My family attends a church called “Prince of Peace”.

With much love and many blessings,

María Elena García de la Cruz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

 

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00