Fernanda Jasmin Escobar Gomez
Ref# NE2435

About Me
My name is Fernanda Jasmin Escobar Gomez. I'm a 13-year-old girl.

My birthday is
September 14, 2006.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country


My Story


Zona 5, where your child lives, is located in a slum area of Guatemala City. An extremely poor area, our program is squeezed in among the shanty dwellings built over an old city dump. Many houses in this area are without toilets or running water and are assembled with scrap wood, sheet metal, and cardboard. Zone 5 is considered one of the most dangerous areas of Guatemala City. It is controlled by gangs and drug pushers. Robberies and murders are common in this area. Public education is available - however, many cannot afford it. Life in Zone 5 is very difficult.

Hello! My name is Fernanda Jasmin Escobar Gomez. I was born on September 14, 2006 and I am 12 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Zone 5 feeding program. My father’s name is Gelhert Naum Escobar Juarez and he is an air conditioning technician. My mother’s name is Lesbia Karina Gomez Zapeta and she is a housewife. We own the house in which we live. It has six rooms including the kitchen. The house is made of cement blocks with a tin roof, a cement and granite tile floor. We have electricity and running water. I have one brother and one sister. My sister and I share a bunk bed. I am in the 6th grade this year, and when I am not in school, I spend my time playing with dolls, painting and dancing. My favorite color is red, and my favorite animals are cats and dogs. The food that I like to eat the most is pizza. My family attends a church.

With much love and many blessings,

Fernanda Jasmin Escobar Gomez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary