Katherine Sofia Chacon Roman
Ref# NE2407

About Me
My name is Katherine Sofia Chacon Roman. I'm a 4-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 21, 2015.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

NE2407

Zona 5, where your child lives, is located in a slum area of Guatemala City. An extremely poor area, our program is squeezed in among the shanty dwellings built over an old city dump. Many houses in this area are without toilets or running water and are assembled with scrap wood, sheet metal, and cardboard. Zone 5 is considered one of the most dangerous areas of Guatemala City. It is controlled by gangs and drug pushers.  Robberies and murders are common in this area. Public education is available - however, many cannot afford it. Life in Zone 5 is very difficult.

Hello! My name is Katherine Sofia Chacon Roman. I was born on January 21, 2015 and I am four years old. I am in good health and I attend the Zone 5 feeding program. My father’s name is Juan Dionicio Chacon Rodriguez and he works as a gas delivery man. My mother’s name is Etna Elizabeth Roman Lorenzana and she is a housewife. I have one brother, Diego, and he is in the 4th grade. We own the house in which we live. It is made of cement block with a tin roof and a granite tile floor. We live in two rooms and one of them has our cook stove in it. My grandmother lives with us, but she has her own room. We have electricity and running water. I am in kindergarten this year, and when I am not in school, I spend my time running, playing tag and playing with my dolls. My favorite color is pink, and my favorite animal is the cat. The food that I like to eat the most is chicken. Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Katherine Sofia Chacon Roman

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary