Rosalina Lucrecia Rogelia


Gender Female
Birth Date Nov 05, 2009
Age 9 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PA1930

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello, my name is Rosalina Lucrecia Rojelia Grave Garcia.  I was born on November 5, 2009 and I am 9 years old.  I am in good health and I attend the Pasojoc feeding program.  My father’s name is Manuel and he is a farmer.  Sometimes, he also travels to the coast to work as a day laborer.  My mother’s name is Manuela and she is a housewife and a shepherdess.  We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe made of wood poles with a tin roof and dirt floor.  It is only one room.  We have electricity and running water.  We have a few domestic animals such as sheep, goats, chickens and turkeys.  We raise them and when they are grown, we sell them to help pay the household expenses.  I have 4 sisters and 4 brothers, and I walk with them to the feeding program.  I am repeating first grade this year, and when I am not in school, I like to play with my dolls.  My favorite color is pink, and my favorite animal is the sheep.  The foods that I like to eat the most are fried chicken and apples. Currently, my family does not attend any Church.

 

With much love and many blessings,

Rosalina Lucrecia Rojelia Grave Garcia

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

$30.00

$360.00

$90.00