Hector Leonardo Geovany

Gender Male
Birth Date Aug 02, 2015
Age 3 years old
Sponsorship Type
Attends Program
Program Country



Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello, my name is Hector Leonardo Geovany Grave Garcia.  I was born on August 2, 2015 and I am 3 years old.  I am in good health and I attend the Pasojoc feeding program.  My father’s name was Isael.  Sadly, he passed away about four years ago. He was at the coast cutting cane and when he came home he died. We do not know why or if he hurt himself there. I never knew him because my mother was pregnant with me at the time.  Her name is Maria.  She is a weaver and makes typical clothing to earn money for our expenses.  She also travels to the coast to work each year for 3 months during the coffee harvest.  My brother and I go with her when she goes to the coast. My family lives with my grandparents and they help with our expenses.  My grandfather is a farmer, and he also travels to the coast each year to work.  The house we live in is made of adobe with a tin roof and dirt floor.  We have electricity and running water.  My family has a few domestic animals:  sheep, goats, chickens, turkeys, a cow and a dog.  We raise them and sell them to help pay the household expenses.  I have only one brother, and my mother takes us to the feeding program.  I do not go to school yet because I am still too young, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars and playing ball with my brother.  My favorite colors are green & red, and my favorite animal is the sheep.  The foods that I like to eat the most are chicken soup and cantaloupe.  My family attends a church called “Door of Salvation”.


With much love and many blessings,

Hector Leonardo Geovany Grave Garcia

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options