Marleny Coj Gomez
Ref# CA1661

About Me
My name is Marleny Coj Gomez. I'm a 7-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 3, 2011.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chuchucá

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

CA1661

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.

Hello! My name is Marleny Coj Gomez. I was born on October 3, 2011. I am seven years old. I attend the feeding program in Chuchuca. My father’s name is David Coj Calachij and my mother’s name is Blanca Estela Ordonez Garcia. I have one sister. I go to a Catholic Church. I am in the first grade. I like to watch TV. My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the rabbit. My favorite food is fried chicken. I am in good health. My father works carrying firewood and grows black beans. Sometimes, he goes to work at the coast. He was in the United States but was deported eight months ago, now he is living with us. My mother is in the United States and took my sister with her. My grandmother takes care of me. Her name is Paula Calachij Garcia, we live in her home. She has four children in the United States and they send her money to cover with some expenses. Our home is made of adobe with a tile roof and dirt floor. We have water and electricity. Our home has three bedrooms and a kitchen. We have some domestic animals; hens, a cow, three sheep, two dogs and two cats. I attend the feeding program on my own.

Blessings,

Marleny Coj Gomez

Translated by Stephen Macoy, Living Water Missionary