Mario Josue Rodriguez Gomez
Ref# CA1657

About Me
My name is Mario Josue Rodriguez Gomez. I'm 3 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 22, 2016.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chuchucá

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

CA1657

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.

Hello! My name is Mario Josue Rodriguez Gomez. I was born on February 22, 2016 and I am three years old. I attend the Chuchuca feeding program. My father’s name is Luis Rodriguez Gutierrez and my mother’s name is Florinda Gomez De La Cruz. I attend Prince of Peace Church. I am not attending school yet due to my age. I like to play with cars. My favorite food is noodles and I like watermelon. My favorite color is yellow and my favorite animal is the cat. I am in good health. My father travels to the coast to cut sugar cane. He is a farmer. My mother works as a day laborer and raises domestic animals that she takes care of and sells when we have a need. We live in my grandparents’ home. Our home is made of adobe with a tile and tin sheet. Our floor is made of dirt. It has three bedrooms and a kitchen. We do not have electricity and water. We get water from a natural water spring. I attend the feeding program with my uncles.

Blessings,

Mario Josue Rodriguez Gomez

Translated by Stephen Macoy, Living Water Missionary