Edwin Cesar Cux Calachij
Ref# CA1654

About Me
My name is Edwin Cesar Cux Calachij. I'm a 7-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 19, 2011.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chuchucá

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

CA1654

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.

Hello! My name is Edwin Cesar Cux Calachij. I was born on December 19, 2011. I am seven years old. I attend the Chuchuca feeding program. My father’s name Daniel Cux Gomez and my mother’s name is Estela Calachij Garcia. I have one brother. I attend Assembly of God Church. I am in the first grade. I like to play football in my free time. My favorite color is green. My favorite animals are doves. My favorite food is cauliflower (an herb that grows here in Guatemala). My favorite fruit is watermelon. I am in good health, but if I spend too much time in the sun, my nose bleeds. My father works as a farmer. He grows peas, corn, squash, and other vegetables. We grow most of it to sell and the rest we use ourselves. My mother takes care of our home. My family lives in my grandparents’ home. We share the bills. Our home has three bedrooms and a separate kitchen. Our home is made of block and our roof is built in such a way that we can add an additional floor in the future. Our floor is made of cement. We have electricity and water at home. My mother raises chickens and turkeys to sell. I walk to the feeding program alone or with my mother.

Blessings,

Edwin Cesar Cux Calachij

Translated by Stephen Macoy, Living Water Missionary