Josue Mariano Tzoy Gutierrez
Ref# CH4202

About Me
My name is Josue Mariano Tzoy Gutierrez. I'm a 6-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 30, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

CH4202

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world. Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen. The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks. In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare. Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors. Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value. Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Josue Mariano Tzoy Gutierrez. I was born on December 30, 2012 and I am 6 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Chixocol feeding program. My father’s name is Mario Tzoy Jimon and he is a farmer. My mother’s name is Marina Maribel Gutierrez Garcia and she is a housewife. She also weaves typical clothing. We own a three-room home with a separate kitchen. Our home is made of cement blocks with a tin roof and concrete floor. We have water and electricity. My family does not travel to the coast to work during the coffee harvest. We have some domestic animals. I have 3 brothers and 1 sister. My older brother is the one who brings me to the feeding program. I am in kindergarten this year, and my favorite thing to do when I am not in school is to play ball. My favorite color is green, and my favorite animal is the cat. The foods that I like to eat the most are fried chicken, noodles and apples. My family attends a catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Josue Mariano Tzoy Gutierrez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary