Kimberly Belinda Guzman Gomez
Ref# DU2107

About Me
My name is Kimberly Belinda Guzman Gomez. I'm a 9-year-old girl.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 14, 2009.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

DU-2107

Dueñas, where your child lives, is a small farming village located at the foot of one of Guatemala's active volcanoes, Fuego (Fire).  The fertile ground around the village allows for the cultivation of roses and coffee, two of Guatemala's largest exports.  Most of the families in this area live in one or two room wooden or adobe houses with tin roofs.  Electricity is available to those who can afford it.  Running water is available - however, most homes do not have indoor plumbing.  Life in Dueñas is quiet.

Hello, my name is Kimberly Belinda Guzman Gomez.  I was born on November 14, 2009 and I am 9 years old.  I am in good health.  I attend the Duenas feeding program.   I have a twin sister named Kimberly Damaris.  I also have two other siblings.  My biological father only legally recognized my oldest sibling.  He never legally recognized the rest of us nor does he support us financially. His name is Carlos Darwin Guzman. My mother is in jail since last year. We live with my aunt and uncle. They are the ones who take care of us.  My aunt’s name is Maria Evelia Gomez, and her husband’s name is Nicolas Julajuj.  He is a guard at a farm called Costa Sol.  My aunt works in a large store called Deposito San Miguel.  She also collects firewood, picks coffee beans and fertilizes plants to earn money for our expenses.  One of her children also works in order to help the family economically.  We live on the San Sebastian coffee farm.  We do not pay rent because my great grandmother worked a lot for this farm, so we are allowed to live here on the same land with her.  Our house is made of cane with a tin sheet roof and dirt floor.  We have electricity and water.  There are four rooms in total for my great grandmother, my aunt and my family.  We all share the same kitchen.  We have rabbits, chickens and dogs at our house.  I walk for about twenty minutes to get to the feeding program.  I am in 2nd grade this year.  In my spare time, I like to play hide and seek with my sister.  My favorite color is pink, and my favorite animal is the rabbit.  The food that I like to eat the most is chow mein.  Currently, my family and I do not attend any church.

With much love and many blessings,

Kimberly Belinda Guzman Gomez

Translated by Edwina Lyons, Living Water Missionary