Oliver Walter Martin Simaj Ruiz
Ref# PA1901

About Me
My name is Oliver Walter Martin Simaj Ruiz. I'm a 7-year-old boy.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 30, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pasojoc

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

PA1901

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! My name is Oliver Walter Martin Simaj Ruiz. I attend the Pasojoc feeding program. I was born on May 30th, 2012. I am six years old and I am in good health. I am attending kindergarten at school. In my free time, I like to play soccer. My favorite color is white and my favorite animal is the pigeon. I love to eat noodles. I have two sisters and no brothers. My father Israel works as a day laborer and eventually travels to the coast to work in the coffee plantation. My mother Rosa is a housewife and also shepherds sheep. We live with our paternal grandmother. Her house is made of adobe with a tin sheet roof and dirt floors. There are two rooms, a separate kitchen and a bathroom with running water and electricity. We also have some domestic animals like sheep, chickens and four cats. We attend a Church called King of the Centuries (Rey de los Siglos).

With much love and many blessings,

Oliver Walter Martin Simaj Ruiz

Translated by: Mireya de Sandoval/ AAC Secretary